I’m Hungry, Mall Visit, I’m Hungry, Hard Work, I’m Hungry, Good Habits & I’m Still Hungry!

Today has been a bit of a struggle as I keep feeling hungry all the time. I eat and then after an hour or two I am hungry again. I took myself off to the mall to try and find some calipers so that I can measure my body fat. Muscle weighs more than fat so jumping on the scales is not giving any clear feedback.

After looking in 5 or 6 shops I was unsuccessful, I then tried going to Celebrity Fitness to see if they could help me work out my body fat; as much as I had expected they couldn’t help me as I would have to become a member first. I have had a bash at going to gyms in Indonesia and they were mostly all disasters.

In Indonesia I am called ‘bule’ (foreigner) and bule has lots of money (I wish), well that’s what most of the people here think. So going to the gym I get girls in tight gym gear falling in front of me or wanting me to show them how to work a machine (even though there are nearly 101 gym personnel ready to assist). Now you don’t have to tell me I ain’t no Tom Cruse but here bule = $$$ ::Ching, Ching:: and it’s very hard to get them to think differently. Now I am not saying that all Indonesian’s are like this. This is my experiences in gyms here in Indonesia.

So my little mall trip to find calipers was unsuccessful. As I was at the mall I got hungry and I passed by McD’s, A&W, PizzaHut and it wasn’t difficult. I have worked so hard at changing my lifestyle and all that food means nothing to me.

First of all getting up at 4am, I have always been a morning person (except when I’m not) but I had never got up at 4am before. I have developed this into a habit over the last 4 months and it’s not a struggle to get up.

Secondly my strength training workouts didn’t take off until I started doing them in the morning. Before I was trying to workout after work, I would come home tired and struggle through my program, some days not able to attempt anything. Doing my workout in the evenings was not working as I was unable to stay consistent.

My wife said to me one day “do your workouts in the mornings” and that was that. I am now consistent and I am developing it into a habit in my new lifestyle.  My muscles are clearly building up and my tummy consistency has changed from tough to a jelly like feel (my wife enjoyed discovering that).

I am not attracted to anything that is going to damage all the work that I have put in over the last 4 weeks. And I am still a long way from my goals and my life of discipline is just getting started.

Saturday, Feb 2nd – I’m Hungry!

Breakfast – oatmeal, whey, peanut butter & hot low-fat milk

Snack 1 – low-fat strawberry yogurt

Lunch – two slices of whole meal bread, tuna, mayo & a thin-cut slice of cheese

Snack 2 – whey shake

Dinner – grilled squid and a green leafy mixed salad with extra virgin olive oil

Snack 3 – oatmeal & a low-fat blueberry yogurt